About CRYO2019

CRYO2019 Venue
CRYO2019 will take place at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina, 1590 Harbor Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92101, USA. 

CRYO2019 is the 56th Annual Meeting of the Society for Cryobiology, making our meeting the world’s longest running and foremost annual meeting of cryobiology professionals. Our meeting spans the entirety of this multi-disciplinary field, covering both practical and theoretical aspects of low temperature biology and thermal medicine.

Set on Southern California’s glittering coastline at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina Bay Tower, CRYO2019 will include  plenary sessions, invited and submitted abstract speakers, poster sessions, networking, and social events. 

We look forward to welcoming you to San Diego! 


About the Society for Cryobiology

Founded in Maryland in 1964, the Society for Cryobiology was the world’s first non-profit  society for low temperature biology. Today, our members are at the forefront of the world’s most exciting research. They are leading the charge to solve the problem of human organ storage for transplantation; at the forefront of human fertility and reproductive medicine; and securing the world’s food resources through long term genetic preservation of agriculturally important species and crops; and protecting and preserving the world’s endangered flora and fauna

Our mission is to improve scientific understanding in the field of cryobiology and to disseminate and apply this knowledge for the benefit of mankind. We achieve this mission in two primary ways. First, the Society organizes an annual scientific meeting dedicated to all aspects of low-temperature biology and thermal medicine. This international meeting offers opportunities for presentation and discussion of the most up-to-date research in cryobiology as well as reviewing specific aspects through symposia and workshops. Secondly, the Society publishes a journal, Cryobiology, which is the foremost scientific publication in this area, with approximately 120 refereed contributions published each year. 

We are world leaders in biological research. Come and join us. 

Society for Cryobiology Organizers

Nicole Evans
Executive Director
Society for Cryobiology

Amelia Hanson
Society for Cryobiology

Program Committee

Jason Acker, Ph.D – Co-Chair
University of Edmonton;
Canadian Blood Services, Canada

Yuksel Agca, Ph.D
University of Missouri, USA

Daniel Ballesteros, Ph.D – Co-Chair
Royal Botanic Gardens Kew, UK

John G. Baust, Ph.D
University of Alaska, USA

John M. Baust, Ph.D
CPSI Biotech, USA

Robert N. Ben
University of Ottawa, Canada

James Benson
University of Saskatchewan, Canada

John Bischof
University of Minnesota, USA

Ido Braslavsky
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel

Kelvin Brockbank
Clemson University, UK

Mustafa Numan Bucak
Selcuk University, Turkey

John Crowe
UC David, USA

Gloria Elliott, Ph.D
University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA

Florent Engelmann
IRD, France

Greg Fahy
21st Century Medicine, Inc., USA
Dayong Gao, Ph.D
President, Society for Cryobiology;
University of Washington, USA

Leandro Godoy
Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil

Xiaoming He
University of Maryland, USA

Adam Higgins, Ph.D

Oregon State University, USA;
President-Elect, Society for Cryobiology

Bill Holt
University of Sheffield, UK

Allison Hubel
University of Minnesota, USA

Charles Hunt
Retired, UK

Eric James, Ph.D
Sanaria Inc., USA

Haenghoon Kim
Sunchon National University, Republic of Korea

Jedediah Lewis, J.D
President and CEO,
Organ Preservation Alliance, USA

Aby Mathew, Ph.D
BioLife Solutions, USA

Teresa Mogas
Autonomous University of Barcelona, Spain

Antonio Diego Molina-Garcia

Julian Santiago Moreno
INIA, Spain

Estefania Paredes, Ph.D
University of Vigo, Spain

Phil Purdy
USDA ARS NLGRP National Animal Germplasm Program, USA

Ramon Risco
University of Seville, Spain

Paul Rooney
NHS Blood and Transplant, UK

Joseph Saragusty
University of Teramo, Italy

Jill Shaw
Retired, Australia

Zhiquan “Andy” Shu, Ph.D
Washington State University, USA

Nucharin Sonsasen
Smithsonian Institution

Ken Storey, Ph.D
Carleton University, Canada

Mike Taylor
Sylvatica Biotech, Inc. & Carnegie Mellon Univ., USA

Aline Schneider Teixeira

Gayle Volk, Ph.D
United States Department of Agriculture,
Agricultural Research Service (USDA-ARS), USA

Willem Wolkers, Ph.D
Institute of Multiphase Processes,
Leibniz University Hannover, Germany

Erik Woods
Ossium Health, Indiana University School of Medicine, USA

Brian Wowk
21st Century Medicine, Inc., USA

Tiantian Zhang
Bournemouth University, UK

Gang Zhao
University of Science and Technology of China, China